Research Project Introduction

Research Project Introduction

Blog Start

Hello, and welcome to my blog!

Here is where I’ll detail the ongoing process of my AP Research project, which is focused on analyzing South Korean pop music, or K-Pop.

More specifically, my project is focused on identifying particular properties of K-Pop songs, and how those properties relate to each song’s success. For my research, I use the Spotify Web API to analyze the songs, and use a variety of different sources to measure each song’s popularity (YouTube, music shows, and the Gaon Digital Chart).

Inspiration for my methodology largely came from a visualization project by Shaun Ellis and Tom Engelhardt that used a similar software to analyze Billboard 100 songs in America. Their work can be found here.

Thanks for reading!

Blog Start

Leave a Reply

