Second Week Update

For my second week at my internship, I worked in the accounting department in Habitat’s office. Although it was a lot of organizing files and scanning, I did learn that Habitat has a lot of connections with outside organizations. Rather, it heavily depends on those outside organizations for its own operations to run. This information is able to serve as evidence when I make my claim that social networking is what provides that connection / correlation between low-income housing thru HFHT and the students’ (hopefully successful, looking at the data it seems to be pointing in that direction anyways) academic outcomes.

I have started on my abstract and I figured out that there are three main points I’d like to focus on and connect with my research. Those would be…

  • Establishing Tucson as a unique location for this research to occur (poor and low quality of education)
  • Tucson’s potential for economic growth. This then leads into the point that economic growth could possibly lead to income inequality.
  • Habitat for Humanity Tucson homeowners have been shown to progress by getting higher paying jobs as well as students in the household being able to continue on with their education (and not a lot of drop outs were recorded which is good and differs from the general Tucson data of drop outs)

I will be working on my intro and the rest of the essay for the upcoming week.

-Christina

One thought on “Second Week Update

  1. Awesome Christina! How do you plan on making those important explanations of why Tucson is an important and unique location for this research, and even further, how HFHT provides a separate environment leading to different economic and academic results?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

